"AEM-technologies" obtained a license from the National Nuclear Safety Administration of China

Friday, 05 July 2019

JSC "AEM-Technologies" (part of Rosatom mechanical engineering division - Atomenergomash) is registered as a manufacturer of civil nuclear equipment at the National Nuclear Safety Administration of China (NNSA). This gives the company the right to produce equipment for the Chinese market and allows "AEM-Technologies" to become the supplier of nuclear island key positions for units № 7 and № 8 of "Tianwan" NPP and units № 3 and № 4 of "Xudapu" NPP with VVER-1200 reactors, which belong to the newest generation 3+.

The decision was made on the basis of the analysis of application documents, as well as audits of the Sunen Nuclear Power Company (CNSP) at three sites of "AEM-technologies": in St. Petersburg, Petrozavodsk and Volgodonsk.

In the branch plants, representatives of the Chinese team conducted an audit of production units, measurement and testing laboratories. The experts assessed the competence of the personnel, completeness of equipment, available references. Special attention was paid to quality control at all stages of production of equipment for NPPs, including the Quality Management System operating at enterprises.

"The branches of "AEM-technologies" have received the approval of NNSA for the entire range of nuclear equipment. This is an important step for the development of our cooperation with Chinese partners, which allows us to get closer significantly to the start of production of Nuclear Steam Supply System (NSSS) elements for "Tianwan" NPP and opens the opportunities for the equipment supply to "Xudapu", said Andrey Nikipelov, General Director of JSC "Atomenergomash".

The next step will be the coordination of working design documentation and quality plans, checking the readiness of production at manufacturers-suppliers of semi-finished metallurgical products for equipment.

The start-up of unit № 3 of "Xudapu" NPP is scheduled for 2027, unit № 4 - for 2028. The start-up of unit № 7 of the "Tianwan" NPP is scheduled for 2026, unit № 8 - for 2027.